Just a Hispanic Female Trying to Make it in the PR world

A statistic PRSA had on one of their blog posts was “According to the U.S. Census Bureau, by 2020, 36.5 percent of the U.S. population will be comprised of Blacks, Asians/Pacific Islanders, Hispanics/Latinos and Native Americans. Just as the industry must adapt to changing technologies, it must also respond to changes in its audience and talent pool.”

I found this blog on the PRSA website called Lack of #PR Diversity makes Diversity Month ever more relevant, and it really hit home for me.

The practice of PR is one that is constantly changing not only in the way business is done and communicated but the people and the demographics that are involved. This is a personal topic for me since I am both a Puerto Rican and Costa Rican female trying to succeed in the PR world.

I am not saying that the PR world has no diversity, it’s actually quite diverse when it comes to the skill sets needed, mindsets of the workers, and the cultures all of the organizations deal with. But the ethnic diversity is one that is lacking and needs growth in their field since it is constantly growing around us.

I say this because I’m not only a female trying to make it in the PR world but an ethnic female trying to make it. As I job search and connect with PR professionals on LinkedIn I am seeing the diversity first hand. It’s a bit lacking, but then I see the job opportunities they have around the world in places such as Spain, Switzerland, and China. That’s when I realized that they have no choice but to be diverse in picking possible future candidates for their jobs, especially if you are bilingual.

Since I am from Puerto Rico and Costa Rican I speak Spanish as my first language, and there are a few jobs I’ve found that have speaking Spanish as a requirement. This gives me hope. Yes, the job is in a Spanish speaking place, but they need someone on both ends that can speak the language.

I’m hoping that my skill sets can possibly give me leverage in the job field since they are searching to make their work places more diverse.

 

http://prsay.prsa.org/2016/08/01/lack-of-prdiversity-makes-diversity-month-ever-more-relevant/

Leave a Reply

